Archive for November 8th, 2009

h1

Look Who’s Not Coming to Dinner

November 8, 2009

I was mighty distressed to read last week that we might have to eat our dogs due to their inordinately high carbon footprint. Since I don’t own a dog, it occurred to me that in order to keep up with the Joneses I might have to eat my SUV. The thought of that gustatory torture nearly had me running to the pound to pick up a plump pooch for supper.

Fortunately, here’s a nice debunking of that claim.

h1

Gag Me With a Spoon

November 8, 2009

When we last left Laurie Williams and Allan Zabel, our caped legal crusaders had promulgated a video critical of the cap-and-trade legislation currently moving through Senate. David Roberts at Grist has unearthed a story suggesting that the EPA has requested (demanded?) that Williams and Zabel remove their video from YouTube by the close of business Friday. Evidently, that did not happen. Keith Kloor has someĀ interesting commentary.

As it turns out, I support Kerry-Boxer, mostly for political reasons, even though I have my criticisms of cap-and-trade regimes. (Working on a paper about that right now. Maybe I’ll air a few concerns over the next week.) What I don’t support, however, are gag rules, either of the Reagan-Bush-Bush variety, of the Jim Hansen variety, or even of the recently minted-Tom Price variety.

In the spirit of open discussion, here’s their video: